Where are the cooks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where are the cooks?

Click image for larger version  Name:	4F63C1C5-8A96-4361-A2B8-25D1C53E7654.jpg Views:	1 Size:	3.11 MB ID:	8877

I was a professional chef for years. I had to switch careers because of chronic illness. I mean, I wholly enjoyed being an estate planning paralegal after that, but…😞

Husband says that it doesn’t matter that I had to quit “back of house”, and that a chef will forever be a chef. I rather like his optimism, as somehow I get a bit sad that I can no longer toss around 50-pound bags of flour as if they were nothing. 😜 So, I am now a home cook, and it ain’t a bad gig at all!

I know that Ash Armstrong is a wonderful cook (and he enjoys cigars, too—mad props to him!) Where are the rest of you?

Above is Da Man, about to dig into a blueberry-orange muffin I baked this afternoon. It’s 76° F. here in central PA, so I thought I’d bake something that felt like springtime…or, at least, like low grade summer.
    Last edited by Imperatrix; 03-06-2022, 10:49 AM.
    Memorare, O piissima Virgo Maria, non esse auditum a saeculo, quemquam ad tua currentem praesidia, tua implorantem auxilia, tua petentem suffragia, esse derelictum. Ego tali animatus confidentia, ad te, Virgo Virginum, Mater, curro, ad te venio, coram te gemens peccator assisto. Noli, Mater Verbi, verba mea despicere; sed audi propitia et exaudi. Amen.

While certainly not a professional (or even especially good), I was coincidentally also baking blueberry muffins this morning, with cornmeal and lime. Also a nice chicken stew for the week, and an orange ginger yam soup.

Comment

I warmed some milk in a microwave oven recently. Does that count?
      Last edited by PhaseDance; 03-06-2022, 01:39 PM.

Comment