Good Grief, no...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good Grief, no...

I've never been a fan of Steve Vai's particular brand of pyrotechnical wankery. He was held in check for a while when he was in Zappa's band, but that, tragically, was a long time ago.
    Sometimes the lights all shining on me, other times I can barely see.
    Lately it occurs to me what a long strange trip it’s been.

Give me the original multi-neck guitarist, Michael Angelo Batio, any day. Mike always puts on a great show, and is a fantastic guy to hang with.

https://youtu.be/31eReSNRrhU

What do you think, Ash? Certainly has speed, but his sweeping is hard to beat.

Comment

Gotta say I freaking love Steve Vai. I first encountered him back when he was working with David Lee Roth and I’ve been a fan ever since. Passion & Warfare was my personal soundtrack for the summer after I graduated high school.
      “Well ain’t life grand when you finally hit it?”-David Lee Roth

Comment

Here's a better one.
        https://youtu.be/PDn9mceIxgM

Comment

I was introduced by way of David Lee Roth also, and Flex-Able was my very first compact disc purchase. What a long wait for Passion & Warfare though. I'd heard it was coming and couldn't wait for it ... then he joined Whitesnake and I was like whaaaaa?? I went to that show and got that CD but the only really good thing was she said the tee shirt looked good on me. The CD and the tour were kinda boring. I guess he used the Whitesnake tour to finance the album or his studio or something.

Some of his albums are an easier listen than others - my favorite one might be The Ultra Zone, despite the wonky title. Cool album cover art, and just seems like what a regular Vai album would be like if there were such a thing.

I did spin the new album once, I definitely dug it!